Pancake Tuesday!

I’m a tad late with this post since Pancake Tuesday was yesterday…oh well! I love making pancakes. It usually takes me a few goes before I get the heat and oil right but then they come out nice and golden with a slight crisp edge. I use a basic recipe that I took from my secondary school book.

Ingredients:

  • 100 g flour
  • 1 egg
  • pinch of salt
  • 250 ml milk

Directions: 

For the batter:

  1. Sieve the flour and salt into a bowl.
  2. Make a well in the centre.
  3.  Drop in the egg and half the milk.
  4. Beat until smooth.
  5. Add the remaining milk and beat for 5 mins*.

For the pancakes:

  1. Heat a non-stick pan over a medium to high heat.
  2. Add just enough oil to swirl around the pan, about 1 tsp.
  3. Pour in the batter and spread it evenly for thin pancakes. Add more batter if thicker pancakes are desired.
  4. Fry the pancake until bubbles appear on the surface of the pancake and then flip with a spatula or if you’re feeling ambitious flip them using the handle!
  5. Fry for a couple of seconds on the other side until golden.

*I usually beat the batter until there’s lots of air bubbles in the batter to get light pancakes. I normally don’t time the 5 mins but of course you can if you want to! I don’t have the patience to beat the batter for that long.

My favourite topping for pancakes is a little bit of butter and lemon juice. I don’t tend to put sweet toppings on them. In previous years, I’ve had pancakes for dinner with a full Irish fry or just crispy bacon. Delish!

This year I served mine with smoked salmon and avocado with a squeeze of lemon juice.

   
    
 
Let me know in the comments what are your favourite toppings and do you celebrate Pancake Tuesday?

Happy Pancake Tuesday!

 

 

One Comment

  1. Andreza comentou em 17 de agosto de 2011 às 21:57. Julia, amei demais esse manual. Gostaria de ver você fazer um manual com batom colorido, como azul, verde, la£ÃnjaƒÂro.. Pra mostar também que não uma coisa de outro mundo. Bj

    Like

Leave a Reply

